From A Teen’s Point of View: Communication


TextingConversations are beginning to become more and more awkward and the best way to avoid being awkward is to just avoid starting a real conversation in general. I can tell my mom is getting slightly annoyed because every time I have to contact an adult by e-mail or to call them, I usually ask my mom if she could do it for me. Not because I’m lazy or anything but because I’m not sure how to have a steady conversation with people anymore. I am definitely not by myself either, I could not tell you the number of times I have called one of my friends and then five seconds into the conversation they ask me to just text them – sometimes they won’t even pick up their phones and soon I receive a message saying that I should just text them.

So why is this? Well, we’ve gotten so used to texting and social sites that can only accept so many characters that we are just used to keeping things short while still getting the point across. Texting also gives us the time to actually think what we want to say a process the received message more clearly and thoughtfully, however when it comes to talking to somebody face to face it could be a little more difficult as we aren’t used to coming up with a response so quickly without a script in hand. When it comes to having conversations with people it can be difficult because you may say something you regret and there is no delete button, or you don’t find yourself with a lot of time to react to it.

It’s becoming more and more difficult these days to stop and do something else, if we get bored with one technology than we switch to another in hopes of immediate amusement, hundreds of channels and there’s nothing to watch, thousands of campgrounds, parks, and shopping centers and there’s nothing to do. It’s just habit, and habits can be broken with time and determination, it’s difficult but it’s worth a shot. When I’m driving and at a stoplight I like to look at the sky – I’m a good driver but it’s more interesting to me rather than looking at a sign that’s trying to get me to eat something or buy something. The sky is calm and tranquil, let’s one’s mind roam .. until the light turns green at least!

Well it’s just a thought, Thanks for Reading!

Leave a comment