Pinterest Challenge: Dream Frosting


When I first heard of this recipe, the description was a cross of marshmallow and whipped cream taste. And if that doesn’t sound intriguing, I don’t know what does. After making this I would have to agree with the description, the frosting is so fluffy and creamy that it can be really addicting if you’re not careful. At the time I was making cupcakes to take into school so I thought, why not try a new recipe? But there are always risks of trying new things, so I cut the recipe in half just to be safe and made the other half regular buttercream frosting (which can be found in a previous blog of mine if interested, I’ll post below just incase you can’t find it). The recipe I’m telling you is half of the original along with a few adjustments.

1 pint of marshmallow cream/fluff

1 1/2 sticks of unsalted butter (softened & mixed well)

about 3/4 cup of powdered sugar

1/2 tablespoon of vanilla extract

Beat all of these ingredients together well, I recommend to use a blender only because its difficult to get the marshmallow fluff into the creamy goodness it should be by just beating it by hand – it’ll be clumpy. That isn’t always the most appetizing thing either so again it’s just a suggestion. When your frosting is well blended together feel free to taste it and adjust it to your liking. If the Icing is too thick add small amounts of milk or I’m assuming since it’s marshmallow, maybe putting it in the microwave it would work as well to loosen up the fluff. If the icing is too thin keep adding powdered sugar until the icing is at a more suitable state.

So overall, I think this was a great pin, it turned out a lot better than I thought it would be and I think it would make a great icing for almost anything, I’d use this for fruit, cupcakes, cake fillings and as a topper. It’s so fluffy and I am quite impressed with how well it turned out. I would recommend this frosting to anybody who’s up for trying something new, it’s honestly the best frosting I’ve made so far. I made french vanilla cupcakes with this and topped it off with sliced strawberries and it was to die for.

I would give this pin a 10/10 (and I’m a strict grader)

it was fabulous and I hope you try it!

Recipe for the buttercream frosting:

https://tamiaayokidavis.wordpress.com/2013/01/27/homemade-buttercream-icing-cookie-cake-how-to/

Thanks for Reading!

Leave a comment