Influences of Music


images

I love music, I listen to just about anything form present day Rap and Hip-Hop to old jams from the 60’s. But what happened to all the “good” music theses days? It’s almost impossible to turn on the radio and not hearing a song  that sends a negative consequence. More than half the songs relate to either getting wasted, having a one night stand, making money, doing drugs, or exposing women in a bad way. I feel like this influences our culture greatly because a lot of this music is targeted towards the youth, and with the internet being so open in a way where almost anyone of any age can gain access to Youtube, it’s no surprise why kids are “growing up to fast”. Lupe Fiasco’s music video (which I will post below) demonstrates how the youth reacts to these things, it’s targeted towards the African-American youth and tells a story of the past history of African-Americans and how it is reflected in the music, it’s easier to watch than to explain.

Again, I will say that a majority of songs are like this, and I am not saying that every artists who brings up one of the issues that I had suggested is no good. There are a few rap/hip-hop/R&B artists who actually speak up and have a positive lyrics in their songs, such as Frank Ocean, Lupe Fiasco, XV, Alicia Keys Chiddy Bang, Beyoncé and many others, I could trust playing a high majority of these songs around my grandmother, again a majority not all. Kanye West, Nas, Jay-z, T.I., and B.o.b. all have songs that weigh themselves out, their material usually consists of both positive and negative influences in my opinion. Lupe Fiasco is my favorite out of this group because all of his songs is such a different approach to rap, he wants to influence the youth in a positive way and open the worlds eyes through a poetic point of view. If you don’t believe me check him out yourself, trust me, it will not be a waste of your time.

So I know that a lot of people like to debate about what defines a song as “good” and I have to agree, in my opinion I prefer not to listen to music that is based off of the topics I’ve listed off. I personally find it pointless but everybody is different and I respect everybody’s opinion towards music. Because don’t get me wrong, I love a good party and a good song, I just don’t appreciate being mobbed or forced to dance with people due to the content of a song.

Lupe Fiasco “B**** Bad” (Don’t judge a book by its cover, it has a better meaning then you may think)

XV ft. Raja “Her Favorite Song”

Frank Ocean “Swim Good”

Nas “Daughters”

Thanks for reading!

2 thoughts on “Influences of Music

Leave a comment