Looking For the Right College


In the beginning of 2011 summer, I really started getting more into depth with which colleges I would like to go to before I graduate in 2014, and then I figured before I start searching I might as well choose which state I would like to live in and how far I would like to be, and what size of the college I would like so here we go!

  • Location: California, Nevada, Arizona, and New Mexico.I would be very far away from home (almost 2,000 miles), but change is good. Looking for a more diverse area, here in Iowa… it lacks minorities.
  •  Campus wise: medium-average sized classes (not so large of a class that I’m just a number; not so small that I’m sitting in the room with 5-12 people either). Location is always nice, I feel like Lewis and Clark because ideally I would like to be near the Pacific Ocean.
  • Athletics: I would love to do sports in College, I play Volleyball, and participate in Cheerleading so I would enjoy doing those as well – I wouldn’t mind watching either (haha).
  • Type of College: I’m willing to go to a City College, State College, or a University, does not matter at all to me, an education is an education.

Schools in mind would be…

California

  • Santa Barbara City College
  • San Diego State
  • San Fransisco State
  • California State University, Long Beach
  • Scripts

Nevada

  • University of Nevada – Reno

Arizona

  • Arizona State University

New Mexico

  • New Mexico State University

These schools are great, and I look into each one of them quite frequently, however right now with my grades and ACT scores.. well – they may not exactly be in my favor, but it’s still worth a shot right? I could just be jumping the gun and just assuming something bad could happen, but I guess I should worry about something that hasn’t quite happened yet.

The downfall is that my grades aren’t looking so great right now. Whatever GPA you’re thinking that’s bad right now take that and subtract a couple of grade points. YEP, it’s that bad. But maybe there’s still hope, I try to stay positive but at this rate I’ll have to transfer from one school to the next. I just want to better myself, I don’t want to compete against anybody and their grade level to those who have a 4.0 congrats and good for you. But I’m in competition with nobody except for myself and I’m trying to keep it that way in this competitive lifetime.

Leave a comment