Why I want to go West


Living in Iowa my whole life not a lot happens. I’ve heard time and time again that “Iowa is what you make of it”, but what can you make out of dirt and rocks. No disrespect to those who are die-hard Iowa lovers but it just isn’t my cup of tea. I don’t even like tea. I feel that the only way to better myself is to explore and leave Iowa. I have had my eye on California for a while now and look forward to going there after college. I love the sun, never been to a beach, people seem to be more comfortable in their own skin and outgoing, and most importantly I have some good ideas for employment so far. I know what I want to do and I know where I want to go which is a start right?

Colleges I’m looking at would be UCLA, San Diego State, California State University, Long Beach, as well as some outside of California such as Arizona State, and University of Nevada, Reno. Currently I am nervous about going to college but I’m pretty sure that’s common, a lot of things are running through my mind such as “What if I don’t get accepted” , “What if I can’t handle the work load”, and “Will I have to pay off my school loans for the rest of my life?!”, but I guess it’s only impossible if you don’t try right? At least I have something to work for.

Going west just seems right for me, every time I think about it I just calm down and just the thought of it makes me happy. I need to get my head in the game though currently in high school though, nothing good ever comes easy right? I have a hard time focusing so if anybody has some tips for me please let me know! Every little thing helps, thanks in advance! (:

Thanks for Reading

Leave a comment